Halfway Houses

by Dylan Rysstad

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.

    PDF of traycard and the 4 panel fold out poster with lyrics, photos, album credits.

      name your price


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    CD with jewel case/4 panel fold out poster with photos and lyrics. Bonus 1.5" buttons included!

    Includes unlimited streaming of Halfway Houses via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 2 days

      $10 USD or more 




Halfway Houses is Dylan's fifth release for Sakamano Records. It was recorded in two separate sessions: Vancouver, BC's Little Red Sounds and Welland, ON's Tapes and Plates. Musicians on the album include Polaris Prize nominee Daniel Romano, members of Chains of Love and Mode Moderne, John Sponarski of Portage & Main. The album was mastered by Dave Williams (Mean Jeans, Needles//Pins) in Toronto, ON.

Having toured Canada extensively over the years both with bands (The Jolts) and as a solo artist, Dylan has returned to his northern BC hometown of Prince Rupert. The move prompted him to retire the name Dylan Thomas (Thomas being his middle name) which he had been going by since 2005. Dylan's prior work has received national airplay, placement in film and television, a featured video on APTN's First Tracks, a "Best of" feature in Vancouver's Georgia Straight, and $1800 of Bob Dylan's money.

With a little help from his friends, Halfway Houses captures the country ballads (Send 'em to Jasper) and folk leanings (The Other Only Tried, Lennon Etc.) that Dylan's been perfecting since his early releases. This isn't to say there ain't no "rockin'" moments. Tracks like "If Only for Tonight" and "When in Rome" are welcome nods to his punk rock past.


released September 14, 2012

Dylan Rysstad - guitars, vocals, harmonica
Mercedes Taylor - backing vocals
Daniel Romano - pedal steel (4), organ/piano (4, 5, 6,7,8), bass (4,9)
Ian Romano - drums (4,6, 9)
John Sponarski - lead guitar (1,3) pedal steel (2,10,12), bass (1,2,3,10,12)
Henry Beckwith - organ/piano (1,2,3,10,12)
Sean Gilhooly - drums (1,2,3,10,12)
Kenny Meehan - bass (5)
Ross Miller - bass (7)
TJ Charlton - bass (6)
Ryan Stack - drums (5,7,8)
Burger - harmonica (5,8)
Tom Rysstad - banjo (2), mandolin (12)

Additional backup vocals by John Sponarski, Rebecca Law Marie Gray, Ian Romano, TJ Charlton & Burger

Tracks 1, 2, 3, 10, 12 recorded and mixed at Little Red Sounds in Vancouver, BC by Felix Fung (December 22/23 2011)

Tracks 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 recorded and mixed at Tapes & Plates in Welland, ON by Ian Romano and Kenny Meehan (May 20/21/22 2011)

Screaming Bloody Murder is a home demo from when Dylan was living in Hamilton, ON.

All songs written by Dylan Thomas Rysstad Socan 2012



all rights reserved


Dylan Rysstad Prince Rupert, British Columbia

Victoria, BC.

contact / help

Contact Dylan Rysstad

Streaming and
Download help